# Avoiding the save as a project (mac)

**URL:** <https://community.capoapp.com/t/avoiding-the-save-as-a-project-mac/297>\
**Category:** Support\
**Created:** [February 1, 2025, 11:28pm UTC](https://community.capoapp.com/t/avoiding-the-save-as-a-project-mac/297 "2025-02-01T23:28:09Z")\
**Posts on this page:** 2\
**Page:** 1

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![iamed](https://avatars.discourse-cdn.com/v4/letter/i/43a26b/32.png) [@iamed](https://community.capoapp.com/u/iamed)\
**Post date:** [February 1, 2025, 11:28pm UTC](https://community.capoapp.com/t/avoiding-the-save-as-a-project-mac/297/1 "2025-02-01T23:28:09Z")

</div>

Hello,  
I use Capo to learn some guitar tracks, all pretty normal stuff, but assuming I open a track, it alsoways wants to prompt me to save as a project on exiting, I’d rather avoid this. Is there a way to avoid the save as a project prompt?

intended use case:

- open track, practice, close track, not be prompted and have to manually interact, select delete button.

---

<div class="post-metadata">

**Author:** ![liscio](https://yyz1.discourse-cdn.com/flex007/user_avatar/community.capoapp.com/liscio/32/3_2.png) [@liscio](https://community.capoapp.com/u/liscio)\
**Post date:** [February 3, 2025, 1:45am UTC](https://community.capoapp.com/t/avoiding-the-save-as-a-project-mac/297/2 "2025-02-03T01:45:27Z")

</div>

Unfortunately there isn’t a way to avoid this, as projects are a key element of the way Capo works. If you didn’t save projects for each song, then every time you load them Capo would have to re-calculate all the tempo, beat, chord, spectrogram, and so on. So projects help make Capo work more efficiently whenever you revisit a song. Additionally, Capo saves wherever you left off in the song, which can be helpful across sessions.
